

American Physical Society

One Physics Ellipse College Park, MD 20740-3844 www.aps.org

President

Roger W. Falcone University of California,

Berkelev

President-Elect

David J. Gross KITP

University of California, Santa Barbara

Vice President Philip H. Bucksbaum

Stanford University
SLAC National Accelerator
Laboratory

Past President

Laura H. Greene National High Magnetic

Field Laboratory and Florida State University

Chief Executive Officer Kate P. Kirby

American Physical Society

September 12, 2018

Toshiki Tajima Norman Rostoker Chair Professor of Physics and Astronomy University of California, Irvine 4164 Frederick Reines Hall Mail Code: 4575 Irvine, CA 92697

Dear Dr. Tajima,

On behalf of the American Physical Society, it is my pleasure to inform you that you have been awarded the 2019 Robert R. Wilson Prize for Achievement in the Physics of Particle Accelerators. The prize recognizes outstanding achievement in the physics of particle accelerators. The citation that will appear on your prize certificate is: "For the invention and leading the first realization of laser wakefield acceleration, which opened the way to compact acceleration applications such as ultrafast radiolysis, brilliant x-rays, intra-operative radiation therapy, wakefield beam dump, and high energy cosmic acceleration."

You will receive more information from Mary Raucci, APS Honors Manager, about the prize and recognition ceremony at an upcoming APS meeting. Congratulations on this well-deserved prize.

Sincerely,

Roger W. Falcone, APS President

Roger W Falcare

Cc: Gérard Mourou, Nominator Stuart Henderson, Chair, Wilson Prize Selection Committee

Vladimir Shiltsev, Chair, Division of Physics of Beams Marion White, Secretary/Treasurer, Division of Physics of Beams Joseph Incandela, Chair, Division of Particles and Fields

Kate Scholberg, Secretary/Treasurer, Division of Particles and Fields